Saturday, July 20    
Western Alliance for Quality Transportation Construction

Related Links
Contact Information


The Western Alliance for Quality Transportation Construction (WAQTC), is comprised of representatives of the western states of Alaska, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, Oregon, Utah, and Washington, and the Western and Central Federal Lands Highway Divisions (WFLHD and CFLHD) of the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA). This organization is dedicated to improving the quality of the transportation products and services that we provide. The essence of the WAQTC is captured in the WAQTC Mission statement.

WAQTC is focused in three main areas: Standardizing test methods (WAQTC, AASHTO, and ASTM), accreditation of the Transportation Technician Qualification Program (TTQP), and working together on national programs of significance including research, training, and technology deployment.

Benefits of Membership
  • Cost savings
  • Partnering
  • Savings to contractors and consultants working in more that one state
  • Sharing of human, technical, and financial resources
  • Reducing wasteful duplication

Governing Body
Executive Board - An Executive Board consisting of at least one representative of each member agency governs the WAQTC. The committee is responsible for the mission, objectives, structure, policy decisions, organizational direction, and other programs as may be undertaken in the future. Operational guidance for this committee can be found in the WAQTC Bylaws  (Acrobat, 37 KB), Appendix A of the Administrative Manual.

Levels of Participation
  • Contributing Member - An agency that contributes financially in support of the WAQTC. Such members have one vote in matters of general business of the WAQTC.
  • Accredited Contributing Member - Agencies that have agreed to follow the standards of the TTQP accreditation program. Representatives shall have a single vote on all operational matters of the TTQP. Further guidelines can be found in the TTQP Operational Agreement  (Acrobat, 60 KB), Appendix B of the Administrative Manual.
  • Advisory Member - Additional members such as suppliers, producers, the construction industry, consultants, academia, or FHWA Division office staff.
  • Guest - Non-Members attending by invitation.

Current Programs
The Transportation Technician Qualification Program (TTQP) TTQP is a proven training and qualification program that meets the requirements of AASHTO R 25, Standard Practice for Technician Training and Qualification Programs and The Code of Federal Regulations 637, Subpart B - Quality Assurance Procedures for Construction. The TTQP consists of instruction and certification in field materials testing procedures with qualification modules for Aggregate, Asphalt, Concrete, Embankment and Base, and In-Place Density.

The WAQTC partnership is having a significant impact on transportation issues. The WAQTC has developed or revised materials test methods accepted by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Subcommittee on Materials for inclusion as standard test methods. WAQTC representatives are helping to shape the future of personnel training by serving as active participants on the AASHTO Transportation Curriculum Coordination Council (TC3). This organization joins four other regional training and qualification or certification groups, AASHTO Subcommittees on Construction, Materials, and Maintenance, Industry, and the Federal Highway Administration, to provide national leadership in the development of a curriculum for the various disciplines of the transportation construction team. In addition, our members serve on a variety of other national and local committees and organizations as well as contribute on a daily basis to the continuous improvement of quality.

Member Organizations
WFLHDWashingtonOregonIdahoMontanaUtahCFLHDColoradoAlaskaHawaii North Dakota Map of the USA showing WAQTC member states

Qualification Programs

Home | About WAQTC | Representatives | Library | Registries | Related Links | Contact Info